Manage Meet settings (for admins)
Stay organized with collections
Save and categorize content based on your preferences.
Feature availability depends on your edition. Compare your edition
As an administrator, you can decide which Google Meet features, such as recording and attendance tracking, are available for your users' meetings. You can also control safety and participation settings. For example, you can decide if users can invite participants outside of your organization or join meetings outside of your organization.
(Optional) Limit access to advanced features
Before you begin: If needed, learn how to apply the setting to a department or group.
Manage Meet video settings
Follow these steps to update Meet video settings:
-
In the Google Admin console, go to Menu and then Apps and then Google Workspace and then Google Meet.
Requires having the Google Meet administrator privilege.
- Click Meet video settings.
-
(Optional) To apply the setting only to some users, at the side, select an organizational unit (often used for departments) or configuration group (advanced).
Group settings override organizational units. Learn more
- Click a setting (details in the table later on this page) and check or uncheck the box to turn it on or off or select an option.
-
Click Save. Or, you might click Override for an organizational unit.
To later restore the inherited value, click Inherit (or Unset for a group).
Changes can take up to 24 hours but typically happen more quickly. Learn more
Allow dial-in access to meetings so events and invitations include a phone number for guests to join meetings by phone. You can allow dial-out access for video meetings.
You can also allow paid dial-in and dial-out calls with numbers from additional countries/regions. For details, go to Set up Meet global dialing.
Integrations
Allow users to join meetings from Google Docs, Sheets, or Slides. Learn more about using Meet with Docs, Sheets, & Slides.Let people see and use add-ons in Meet. Some add-ons are made by Google (first-party), and others are made by other companies (third-party). You can pre-install and block add-ons for your users and manage data access for admin-installed Marketplace add-ons. For more information, go to Manage data access for admin-installed Marketplace apps.
The default visibility of first-party and featured third-party add-ons depends on your workspace edition. Admins can use the admin console to turn off first-party add-ons, which hides any current or future Google-developed add-ons from users. Admins can also turn off featured third-party add-ons using the admin console, which hides third-party add-ons from the featured add-ons panel.
If your organization uses client-side encryption, third-party add-on offers won't be available. For more information, go to About client-side encryption.
Let meeting organizers track meeting attendance. For the detailed steps, go to Let organizers get reports on meeting attendance & livestream views.
Host live streams of up to 100,000 people with low latency and low bandwidth using eCDN. For details, go to Hosting large live streams.
Manage Meet safety settings
Follow these steps to update Meet safety settings:
-
In the Google Admin console, go to Menu and then Apps and then Google Workspace and then Google Meet.
Requires having the Google Meet administrator privilege.
- Click Meet safety settings.
- (Optional) To apply the setting to a department or team, at the side, select an organizational unit.
- Click a setting (details in the table later on this page) and check or uncheck the box to turn it on or off or select an option.
-
Click Save. Or, you might click Override for an organizational unit.
To later restore the inherited value, click Inherit (or Unset for a group).
Changes can take up to 24 hours but typically happen more quickly. Learn more
You can use this setting to set the default meeting access type.
*Differs from the Access setting which determines the types of meetings users within your organization are permitted to join.
If you turn off this setting, users and the meeting host can't send messages, even in meetings hosted by other organizations.
If you turn Chat on, the meeting host decides whether users can send messages.
You can use this setting to configure whether meeting hosts can turn Continuous meeting chat on or off. You can also configure if Continuous meeting chat is on or off by default.
- Default on - Hosts can modify: Continuous meeting chat is on by default for meetings. Hosts can turn it off in Google Calendar video call options.
- Default on - Hosts cannot modify: Continuous meeting chat is on by default for meetings. Hosts won't see an option to turn it off.
- Default off - Hosts can modify: Continuous meeting chat is off by default for meetings. Hosts can turn it on in Calendar video call options.
- Default off - Hosts cannot modify: Continuous meeting chat is off by default for meetings. Hosts won't see an option to turn it on.
Turn Host Management on or off by default. When Host Management is turned on, the meeting host can click Host controls in the meeting to control:
- Who can present and send chat messages
- Audio and video
- Ending the meeting for everyone
- (For some Google Workspace editions) Adding co-hosts and co-moderators.
For details, go to Add co-hosts in Google Meet.
Manage Meet Gemini settings
Follow these steps to update Meet Gemini settings:
-
In the Google Admin console, go to Menu and then Apps and then Google Workspace and then Google Meet.
Requires having the Google Meet administrator privilege.
- Click Meet Gemini settings.
-
(Optional) To apply the setting only to some users, at the side, select an organizational unit (often used for departments) or configuration group (advanced).
Group settings override organizational units. Learn more
- Click a setting and check or uncheck the box to turn it on or off or select an option.
-
Click Save. Or, you might click Override for an organizational unit.
To later restore the inherited value, click Inherit (or Unset for a group).
Changes can take up to 24 hours but typically happen more quickly. Learn more
Manage Meet managed configurations
Follow these steps to update Meet managed configurations:
Before you begin: If needed, learn how to apply the setting to a department or group.
- In the Admin console, go to Menu and then Apps and then Web and mobile apps
- Click Google Meet.
- Click Settings.
-
(Optional) To apply the setting only to some users, at the side, select an organizational unit (often used for departments) or configuration group (advanced).
Group settings override organizational units. Learn more
- Click Managed configuration.
- Click Add managed configuration.
- Create a configuration name.
- Select an option.
- Toggle the switch to on.
-
Click Save. Or, you might click Override for an organizational unit.
To later restore the inherited value, click Inherit (or Unset for a group).
Prevent Meet calls at the device level. For details, go to Prevent people from making Meet mobile calls.
Prevent users from having unsupervised meetings
As a Google Workspace administrator, you can use the security investigation tool to remove all users from selected meetings within your organization. For details, go to Use the investigation tool to end meetings.