| Connected Sheets |
- Connected Sheets files transfer using Google Drive, but the Google Cloud projects that back them don't. The organization policies of the source environment still govern the Google Cloud projects.
- Connected Sheets only store a link to the underlying Google Cloud project and no other information. Permissions are checked at time of access for all users. Since the transfer process doesn't change underlying IAM permissions, access to the Connected Sheets and any associated functionality remain intact.
|
| Gemini Notebook |
- A Workspace user's notebooks, personal notes, and uploaded source documents all automatically transfer with the user.
- The domain transfer divestiture keeps all access control lists (ACLs) and notebook sharing permissions for the user. Notebooks and source files stored in Google Drive follow the standard Drive transfer settings (Expanded or Stripped link sharing).
- Domain transfer divestiture supports transfers from Gemini Notebook in Google Workspace. Domain transfer divestitures don't include custom Gemini Notebook deployments, enterprise instances, backend connectors, or data storage hosted in Google Cloud console. Underlying Google Cloud console projects stay in the source environment.
|
| Gmail |
- All email messages and their metadata transfer.
- All user-specific settings and configurations are maintained.
|
| Google Calendar & calendar resources |
- All primary calendars transfer.
- All events keep their booked rooms.
- Transferred calendars use the calendar sharing settings for the destination environment. If the See all event details setting is on in the source environment but the See only free/busy setting is on in the destination environment, the transferred calendar only shows free and busy information.
|
| Google Cloud Search |
|
Content appears in the destination environment though it may be subject to delays. Learn more
|
| Google Contacts |
| All personal contacts transfer. |
| Google Drive, Docs, Sheets, Slides, Forms & Drawings |
|
Transfer process & permissions:
- User's My Drives, including documents and folders, transfer.
- Shared drives, including documents and folders, transfer.
- No email notifications regarding sharing are generated as a part of this transfer process.
- No explicit access permissions in documents are modified (for example, sharing with specific users and groups inside the destination environment). If policies are set to prevent this, sharing permissions with external users might change.
Sharing files with everyone in your organization:
- When you transfer files that are shared using the default target audience (all users in your organization), you choose one of the following options to specify how you want the files to be shared on the target domain:
- Stripped—Link sharing is removed for content that's owned by users or in shared drives in the source environment. Content that's owned by destination environment users remains shared with the entire environment (including transfer users).
- Expanded—Link sharing with the source environment is expanded to include all users in the destination environment. The transfer expands sharing from source environment users to source and destination environment users. This option applies to content owned by users and in shared drives in both environments.
- If a document is shared with the source and destination environment, users in both environments get the highest sharing level. For example, if the source environment has edit permissions and the destination environment has view permissions, after the transfer process completes, the destination environment has edit permissions.
- Transfer users may still have access to nontransfer users' data and vice versa, subject to the settings and policies on external (cross-customer) sharing.
Learn more about sharing files from Google Drive and how to create and manage target audiences.
Shared drives within organizational units
- The organizational unit structure in the source environment is copied to the destination environment. However, no policies or settings from the source environment are included in the transfer.
- If you want to transfer shared drives, you must place them in an organizational unit in the source environment. The transfer process creates the shared drive organizational unit under the transfer root organizational unit, just as it would for any other organizational unit in the destination.
- All other shared drives are left behind in the source tenant.
- Administrators in the destination have access to the shared drives, but they might be restricted to others. The transfer process might also cause additional organizational unit-scoped policy restrictions or trust rules to change, but it won't affect the shared drives' Access Control List.
Note: If someone outside of your organization's domain is on the Shared drives' Access Control List, but policy restrictions or trust rules prohibit sharing, the user outside of the domain won't gain access.
Applications using Drive
Applications like Google Sites, Google Apps Script, and Connected Sheets can be found in Drive but they include extra components such as the use of Google Cloud projects and web publishing. These applications are listed separately as either supported or unsupported. Drive files associated with these applications still transfer and the effect on permissions and link sharing described above still apply.
Note: There's a known issue where Drive templates generated from files inside shared drives don't appear in the destination environment's template gallery posttransfer. To get these files to display in the destination environment's template gallery, a user must reset link sharing (make the file private and then reshare it), and resubmit the file to the template gallery posttransfer.
|
| Google Groups |
- All groups with the domain name of a transfer domain will transfer to the destination environment.
- If a group includes "all users in the source," it will include all destination users posttransfer.
- No group memberships are modified as part of the transfer. Even if the destination environment has group settings that prevent owners from adding members external to the domain, transferred groups remain as is. If transferred groups have external members, those memberships are preserved and remain active.
- Calendar events that have a group as a guest send invitations to any new members added to the group. For example, if the group in the calendar event includes all users in the company, then the group expands to include all users in the destination environment. Note that this action might generate large amounts of invitations during the migration process.
|
| Google Keep |
| All Keep content and metadata transfer. |
| Google Meet |
- All Meet video recordings created by a transfer user, which are stored in Drive, transfer along with the other Drive content.
- Transfer users maintain control of Meet spaces they created, even if the Spaces are attached to events in calendars that don't transfer.
|
| Google Sites |
- Any sites associated with the transfer domains move to the destination environment and remain linked with their owners (for example, a user or shared drive).
- Sites owned by transfer users or transferred Shared Drives will transfer.
- Custom URL mappings in the Admin console, along with the associated domain, are copied from the source environment to the destination environment.
- The URL for the site does not change and continues to include the original source environment name.
- Published sites will remain published, even if the site and the domain name it is published under are now in different tenants. This can happen if a site ownership was transferred between owners in different domains pretransfer. To republish a site under a domain owned by the site owner's customer, the current owner must unpublish and republish the site.
- Legacy sites don't belong to specific users of shared drives. Legacy sites only transfer if they are associated with a transfer domain name. In cases where the only owner of a transfer site is a nontransfer user, the site becomes inaccessible (and vice versa for non-transfer sites and transfer users).
|
| Google Workspace with Gemini |
- Transfers from Workspace with Gemini include the user's prompt history, conversations, and chats.
- The Gemini settings in the destination environment apply to any chats transferred from Workspace with Gemini. To ensure stable access for transferred users, the Gemini license in the destination environment must have the right Gemini add-on or Workspace subscription.
|