Known issues with Domain Transfer Divestiture
Stay organized with collections
Save and categorize content based on your preferences.
Below is a list of known issues and propagation delays that might occur after the Google Workspace Domain Transfer Divestiture process completes. These items can impact both administrators and end users.
Known issues | Propagation delays
How do we define a known issue?
We work on isolating and fixing every product issue we're aware of. Some issues might not be listed here. We characterize known issues as follows:
- We can consistently reproduce unexpected behavior.
- Engineers are actively working toward a fix to correct the behavior.
Known issues
- Transfer users might lose access to services if they have not been properly set up at the transfer root organizational unit level or below.
- If policies prevent sharing outside the environment, transfer users might lose access to content (for example, classic Google Sites).
- Chrome profiles remain associated with the source environment post-transfer. Customers need to manually re-enroll profiles on any managed device. On non-managed devices, you can recreate the Chrome profile which will fetch new policies.
- If necessary, you might also need to set policies for enrolled Chrome Browsers within the source environment.
- Drive templates generated from files inside shared drives don't appear in the destination environment's template gallery post transfer. Learn more
- If the stripped transfer option for Google Drive link sharing was selected, users will lose access to documents if the documents were not directly shared with them. Learn more
- Drive templates generated from files inside shared drives don't appear in the destination environment's template gallery post transfer. Learn more
- If the stripped transfer option for Google Drive link sharing was selected, users will lose access to documents if the documents were not directly shared with them. Learn more
Propagation delays
The following is a list of items that might experience post-transfer delays.
Note: We expect these items to be resolved within 24 hours. For issues that exist after 24 hours or that are not on this list, file a ticket with Google Cloud support.
Users with access to content using domain-wide sharing (for example, Google Drive files, communities) might temporarily lose access. The reason is the user and the content might be in different environments temporarily during the transfer.
Transfer users are:
- Labeled as external to destination environment users.
- Unable to start new direct messages.
- Unable to add people to newly-created spaces.
- Groups that do not allow messages from outside the organization might temporarily bounce messages from transfer users during the transfer process for the period the users have already been transferred but the groups haven't. Learn more
- Transferred groups might temporarily be missing from a transfer user's list of groups in groups.google.com
- The organization name that appears in the sharing settings on Google Docs and Google Calendars changes to the destination environment's organization name. The update might take up to 72 hours before it's complete.
- Transferred content might take a few days to appear in the destination environment's Cloud Search results.
- Contact and address autocomplete will match the directory in the destination environment.
- End users might experience temporary interruptions of Google Workspace services during the transfer process and after it completes.